Make no little plans

Make no little plans

Ray Ortlund wrote a blog by that name in tribute to David Burnham, an architect who designed the master plans for some of America’s largest cities. He was also the chief designer and planner for buildings in New York and Washington, D.C.

During the height of his career, he gave a speech that included these words: “Make no little plans. They have no magic to stir men’s blood and probably themselves will not be realized. Make big plans. Aim high in hope and work, remembering that a noble, logical diagram once recorded will never die, but long after we are gone will be a living thing, asserting itself with ever-growing insistency. Remember that those who follow us are going to do things that would stagger us!”

This is the season when graduating classes will hear songs of inspiration and challenge. In my long-ago era it would have been “Climb Every Mountain” or “To Dream the Impossible Dream.”

From time to time, we need to step up our game. Perhaps this will help … or not:

  • From a new graduate: “I would like to thank Google, Wikipedia, and whoever invented copy and paste.”
  • Unknown: “I would like to thank my arms for always being by my side; my legs for always standing up for me; and my fingers because I can always count on them.”
  • From John Wayne: “Life is hard; it’s harder if you’re stupid.”
  • From a grad: “I didn’t graduate Magna Cum Laude or Summa Cum Laude or Cum Laude; I graduated, thank the Laude.”
  • Line from Phoebe (Friends): “Do I have a plan? I don’t even have a pla.”
  • From Rae Lewis-Thornton: “I have this crazy idea that my purpose is bigger than me.”
  • From Mark Cooper: “Life has no remote. Get up and change it yourself.”

The Bible contains some “Impossible Dream” people:

  • 85 year-old Caleb who told Joshua, “Give me the hill country.”
  • Jabez who petitioned the Lord: “Enlarge my territory!”
  • David said about Goliath: “Don’t worry about this Philistine. I’ll go fight him!”
  • Esther to her uncle Mordecai: “I will go in to see the king. If I must die, I must die.”
  • Paul who wrote to the Philippians: “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

Make no little plans!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized on by .

About Mark Wilbanks

Dr. Wilbanks became Wieuca’s fifth senior pastor in February of 2012. Mark’s father, Oliver Wilbanks, served as Associate Pastor here from 1966 to 1982. Wieuca had a tremendous influence in shaping Mark’s call to ministry during his teenage and young adult years. A graduate of both Southern and New Orleans Baptist Theological seminaries, Mark has served churches in Kentucky, Florida, and Georgia. He pastored Southside Baptist Church in Jacksonville, Florida for 17 years and Bradfordville First Baptist Church in Tallahassee, Florida for ten years. He and his wife, Kim, were married in 1979 and have two sons, Andy and Jordan. Andy is married to Lindsay and they have a son, Cade, a daughter, Ruthie, and welcomed their third child, Samuel, in October.

Leave a Reply

