“I’m old enough”

“I’m old enough” isn’t a complete sentence. There are always qualifiers:

  • “I’m old enough to tie my shoes.”
  • “I’m old enough to sleep without the light on.”
  • “I’m old enough to drive a car.”
  • “I’m old enough to make my own decisions.

Sometimes the sentence changes – “You’re old enough.”

  • “You’re old enough to sit there and be quiet.”
  • “You’re old enough to mow the grass.”
  • “You’re old enough to stop acting like a baby.”
  • “You’re old enough to know better.”
  • “You’re old enough to do this yourself.”

It seems like there are two notions to “old enough.” The first is on the way up as you develop, grow, and develop. As you move through childhood and adolescence toward adulthood, you learn lessons, achieve milestones, and become your own person.

Then there is that second. You are not going up anymore; heck, you’re heading downhill and you notice you are picking up speed!

  • “You’re old enough not to try to do that anymore.”
  • “You’re old enough to not be able to do that anymore.”
  • “You’re old enough to know that there are a lot of things you don’t know.”
  • “You’re old enough to talk about events and people from the distant past.”
  • “You’re old enough to appreciate things you used to take for granted.”
  • “You’re old enough to understand there are more years behind you than in front of you.”
  • “You’re old enough to treasure relationships and cherish time with people you love.”

I know I’m old enough to be grateful for blessings. In a week, Kim and I celebrate our 37th wedding anniversary. We’ve had the privilege of raising two fine sons who have become really good men. We’ve become grandparents to three amazing kids. I was called into the ministry as a senior in high school at a church camp. For over 40 years, I have had the privilege to serve with some of the most dedicated Christians around. I’m old enough to know the road can get rocky and life can be painful, but I’m also old enough to believe that God goes before me, stands beside me, follows after me, and loves me always. I’m old enough.

This entry was posted in Commentary and tagged , , , on by .

About Mark Wilbanks

Dr. Wilbanks became Wieuca’s fifth senior pastor in February of 2012. Mark’s father, Oliver Wilbanks, served as Associate Pastor here from 1966 to 1982. Wieuca had a tremendous influence in shaping Mark’s call to ministry during his teenage and young adult years. A graduate of both Southern and New Orleans Baptist Theological seminaries, Mark has served churches in Kentucky, Florida, and Georgia. He pastored Southside Baptist Church in Jacksonville, Florida for 17 years and Bradfordville First Baptist Church in Tallahassee, Florida for ten years. He and his wife, Kim, were married in 1979 and have two sons, Andy and Jordan. Andy is married to Lindsay and they have a son, Cade, a daughter, Ruthie, and welcomed their third child, Samuel, in October.

Leave a Reply

