Live Free

Have you ever done something you knew would embarrass your kids? Oh, yes you have. Kim and I know that no matter how old our guys are they still turn their heads and make faces if they see their parents kiss. To be honest, I did the same thing when I was growing up. You would think we would be glad that our parents show love and affection to one another (to a point).

I know another sure-fire way to gross ‘em out. Start dancing. There is nothing as appealing as seeing an old white guy bust some moves. Well, ‘busting’ may have more to do with the potential for physical harm. The grandkids start laughing; the sons start hurling.

I looked up the definition of embarrass: to cause to feel self-conscious, confused, and ill at ease; to disconcert and fluster. It sounds like my state of mind most of the time!

We live in a world of many uncertainties. The ground under our feet seems to be shaking. There are plenty of reasons to be disconcerted and flustered, if not absolutely terrified. Commercials on television will market medicines that will address my many aging challenges. The first 15 seconds will describe the wonderful benefits. The rest of the ad will warn you how that particular product could cripple or kill you. Certainly adds to my peace of mind.

The truth is I don’t have to live with fear and anxiety. The psalmist wrote: “Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good! His faithful love endures forever. The Lord is for me, so I will not be afraid. What can mere mortals do to me? Yes, the Lord is for me; He will help me. The Lord is my strength and my song; He has become my victory” (Psalm 118).

That gives me joy and freedom – the freedom to keep embarrassing my kids while there is still time. I don’t even mind when one of my sons says to me, “Dad, don’t ever do that in public … again.”

This entry was posted in Commentary and tagged , , on by .

About Mark Wilbanks

Dr. Wilbanks became Wieuca’s fifth senior pastor in February of 2012. Mark’s father, Oliver Wilbanks, served as Associate Pastor here from 1966 to 1982. Wieuca had a tremendous influence in shaping Mark’s call to ministry during his teenage and young adult years. A graduate of both Southern and New Orleans Baptist Theological seminaries, Mark has served churches in Kentucky, Florida, and Georgia. He pastored Southside Baptist Church in Jacksonville, Florida for 17 years and Bradfordville First Baptist Church in Tallahassee, Florida for ten years. He and his wife, Kim, were married in 1979 and have two sons, Andy and Jordan. Andy is married to Lindsay and they have a son, Cade, a daughter, Ruthie, and welcomed their third child, Samuel, in October.

Leave a Reply

