Time to Celebrate

What’s the last thing that happened to you to remind you that time is moving on? Not too long ago, I sat down with my six year-old grandson. He had just received a new Lego set – about 1000 pieces with a twenty page instruction booklet. He had options: he could build a skyscraper or a space ship or a baseball stadium, or maybe it was a truck. I can’t remember. Anyway, I’m sitting there offering to help. I pick up a few pieces and try to understand the diagrams. I’m taking too long. He’s moved on to page 16 while I need to see page one again. He finally looks up at me and says with a sigh, “Pops, you can’t do this. You’re too old.”

 

“You’re too old.” Here’s how you know:

  • You look in the mirror and say, “Dad?”
  • You’re not older than dirt; you discovered it.
  • You notice three things you really miss – 1. agility, 2. memory, 3. ……..
  • You can’t wait ‘til the next “Jeopardy”
  • You can’t stand reunions ‘cause you have to hang around with all those old people
  • Your demographic market highlights Depends, Preparation H, and AARP
  • You’re the same age as your furniture, only it’s worth more
  • You see a pretty woman and wonder what her mother looks like

Getting older is not all bad. You gain new perspectives with age. That doesn’t necessarily make you wiser but it gives you a better chance!

You appreciate little things a bit more. Watching your grandchildren play, listening to a song with words you can understand, reading a good book, hearing from an old friend, spending time giving thanks for blessings you might have taken for granted.

I have a blessing I hope I never take for granted. Thirty five years ago, Kimberly Ann Perrin became my wife. I don’t deserve her but God entrusted her to me. We are companions, partners, friends, and lovers. When I asked her to marry me, she told me she didn’t want to marry a minister. I suggested we wait a few months and talk about it again. Then I asked her the next night and she said, “Yes.”

Two thoughts about that:

  1. When you meet the right one, why wait around?
  2. I was getting older and my mom was wondering if I’d ever get married.

Over the years, I’ve met or heard about any number of pastors’ wives. For somebody who wasn’t sure about the whole ‘wife-of-a-minister’s’ thing, Kim has been wonderful in the good times and not-so-good times.

While I still have time and can remember, I celebrate my wife today. I am humbly thankful she came into my life. I am blessed to have such a helpmate. My boys are blessed to have such a mother. My grandchildren are blessed to have a KK who loves them so. My in-laws are blessed to have such a daughter. It’s a good day.

This entry was posted in Commentary and tagged , , , on by .

About Mark Wilbanks

Dr. Wilbanks became Wieuca’s fifth senior pastor in February of 2012. Mark’s father, Oliver Wilbanks, served as Associate Pastor here from 1966 to 1982. Wieuca had a tremendous influence in shaping Mark’s call to ministry during his teenage and young adult years. A graduate of both Southern and New Orleans Baptist Theological seminaries, Mark has served churches in Kentucky, Florida, and Georgia. He pastored Southside Baptist Church in Jacksonville, Florida for 17 years and Bradfordville First Baptist Church in Tallahassee, Florida for ten years. He and his wife, Kim, were married in 1979 and have two sons, Andy and Jordan. Andy is married to Lindsay and they have a son, Cade, a daughter, Ruthie, and welcomed their third child, Samuel, in October.

One thought on “Time to Celebrate

Leave a Reply

