The Drop Program

Do you ever drop stuff? I don’t mean once in a blue moon (according to some expert, it is the second full moon to occur in a single calendar month – which means about every 2.5 years for you trivia enthusiasts). I mean all the time. I cannot walk two steps without dropping something. It’s gotten so bad that I look around to see what else I’ve dropped recently so I can pick that up while I’m down there. Then there is straightening up – that’s another story for another day.

My wife tells me it’s because I’m careless. Could be, but I think there is something more sinister at work here. I believe there are unseen forces at work, knocking stuff out of my hands on purpose. Or, I could be careless.

Anyway, it started me thinking. Since I’m dropping things anyway, why not be a little more intentional about what I drop? I could drop:

  • My selfishness – last night in a wonderful service featuring our mission partnerships, we heard from men and women who are on the front lines of serving, mentoring, and caring for marginalized kids, young people, and adults in our city. We listened to two amazing women who talked about their determination to overcome difficult circumstances that would overwhelm many people. They all displayed courage and didn’t hesitate to challenge us to give of our time, talents, and resources. It was humbling.

 

  • My doubt – like you, I look at our world, our nation, our churches, our future and I grow more and more concerned. The world is full of darkness; our country lacks for strong and principled leaders at so many levels; our churches are stumbling, our future looks bleak. Then I remember that God hasn’t changed, that His power hasn’t waned, that His purposes will be accomplished. History is His story.

 

  • My worry – we could all make lists of things we worry about. Finances, health, job security, our families’ welfare, and so many others. I know this – I’ve never worried a problem away. There is a reason that Jesus told us to trade our anxiety for trust. We know it, but are we willing to do it? Can I really trust God … that whatever comes, He will be faithful? The answer isn’t about His faithfulness but about my willingness to trust Him.

Perhaps there are some things you need to drop. Perhaps we can help each other. By the way, have you seen my keys? I dropped them somewhere.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Commentary and tagged , , , , on by .

About Mark Wilbanks

Dr. Wilbanks became Wieuca’s fifth senior pastor in February of 2012. Mark’s father, Oliver Wilbanks, served as Associate Pastor here from 1966 to 1982. Wieuca had a tremendous influence in shaping Mark’s call to ministry during his teenage and young adult years. A graduate of both Southern and New Orleans Baptist Theological seminaries, Mark has served churches in Kentucky, Florida, and Georgia. He pastored Southside Baptist Church in Jacksonville, Florida for 17 years and Bradfordville First Baptist Church in Tallahassee, Florida for ten years. He and his wife, Kim, were married in 1979 and have two sons, Andy and Jordan. Andy is married to Lindsay and they have a son, Cade, a daughter, Ruthie, and welcomed their third child, Samuel, in October.

Leave a Reply

