Along the Journey – Things I learned from my Dad

SuperdadAs I got older, it seemed my Dad got smarter. Now at my advanced age I realize he was pretty smart all along. I just didn’t get it at the time when I thought I knew everything. The truth has hit – the older I get the more I need to know.

Dads should be important in our lives as mentors and models. I was blessed to have one who did both well. I learned a few things.

  • Anybody can complain; try to see the good in a situation and make it better.
  • Keep smiling and singing; folks will think you’re up to something.
  • Give your kids the gift of showing love, honor, and respect to your wife.
  • Time is precious; do the good, the fun, the meaningful now.
  • When you’re talking to a child, try listening more than you speak.
  • When you’re talking to a child, look him/her in the eye even if it means you do it on one knee.
  • If it is important to your child, it should be important to you.
  • If someone offers you a choice of dessert, always say yes … to both.
  • Never quit playing, even if your wife tells you to grow up.
  • Sometimes the best response to what your wife says is just “yes, ma’am.”
  • Be proud of who you are, but don’t be satisfied.
  • You’re human; you’re going to mess it up sometimes. Admitting you made a mistake and asking for forgiveness teaches a powerful lesson.
  • Read. Read. Read. Read for inspiration, knowledge, insight, and enjoyment.
  • At some point you will be an embarrassment to your kids no matter how cool you think you are.
  • Never let the important people in your life wonder about your love for them.
  • Love the church; it’s full of imperfect people, just like you.
  • Love God knowing you can never match the love He has for you.
  • Follow your call. Do what you were created to do.
  • Spend your life well.
  • Laugh, then laugh some more.

There were times when I took my father for granted, but I always considered him my hero. I wish I had told him more often. Happy Father’s Day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized on by .

About Mark Wilbanks

Dr. Wilbanks became Wieuca’s fifth senior pastor in February of 2012. Mark’s father, Oliver Wilbanks, served as Associate Pastor here from 1966 to 1982. Wieuca had a tremendous influence in shaping Mark’s call to ministry during his teenage and young adult years. A graduate of both Southern and New Orleans Baptist Theological seminaries, Mark has served churches in Kentucky, Florida, and Georgia. He pastored Southside Baptist Church in Jacksonville, Florida for 17 years and Bradfordville First Baptist Church in Tallahassee, Florida for ten years. He and his wife, Kim, were married in 1979 and have two sons, Andy and Jordan. Andy is married to Lindsay and they have a son, Cade, a daughter, Ruthie, and welcomed their third child, Samuel, in October.

Leave a Reply

