A Minute with Mark – Mother’s Day Reflection

images (2)I was feeling sorry for myself on Sunday, May 12. Have you ever thrown yourself a pity party? Yes, you have … we all have.

I couldn’t be with my wife on Mother’s Day, and she has been and is an incredible mom to our two sons. She traveled to Birmingham to attend the dedication of our third grandchild, Samuel. I was “stuck” in Atlanta, preaching about the biblical Samuel and his mom, Hannah. I couldn’t figure out how to be in two places at once.

Speaking of moms, I still miss mine. She’s been gone since January of 2004.

Then I looked over the congregation at worship and was disappointed in the turnout.

Yeah, I was feeling sorry for myself.

Then two things happened to remind me that being selfish is a poor choice.

  • Two precious children made public their professions of faith at the end of the service. One I knew about … the other a thrilling surprise. I knew there had been many who had influenced their young lives. Certainly their parents, but there were more. Day School, After School, Camp Wieuca, VBS, Discovery Point, basketball, Wednesday night music and missions … men and women whose eyes were as moist as mine.
  • I wished a friend “Happy Mother’s Day” and she was gracious but reserved. I found out later why. She and her husband left after worship to spend time with her mother in Newnan. Later in the afternoon while they were there, her mother slipped away. She had been ill and her death wasn’t unexpected, but you’re never quite prepared. I was grateful to hear that she was surrounded by love when she left this world for a better one.

I’m over my pity party now. It was a drag. I’ve got better things to focus on. I have a day to remember … and to cherish.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized on by .

About Mark Wilbanks

Dr. Wilbanks became Wieuca’s fifth senior pastor in February of 2012. Mark’s father, Oliver Wilbanks, served as Associate Pastor here from 1966 to 1982. Wieuca had a tremendous influence in shaping Mark’s call to ministry during his teenage and young adult years. A graduate of both Southern and New Orleans Baptist Theological seminaries, Mark has served churches in Kentucky, Florida, and Georgia. He pastored Southside Baptist Church in Jacksonville, Florida for 17 years and Bradfordville First Baptist Church in Tallahassee, Florida for ten years. He and his wife, Kim, were married in 1979 and have two sons, Andy and Jordan. Andy is married to Lindsay and they have a son, Cade, a daughter, Ruthie, and welcomed their third child, Samuel, in October.

One thought on “A Minute with Mark – Mother’s Day Reflection

Leave a Reply

